Lessons Learned and Affirmed: COVID-19 State of Mind Part 1

During our stay at home , social distancing and working from home due to COVID-19, I have made some observations and learned some lessons.  I am sure that you have too.  These are life lessons that have been aha moments and lessons that I have learned in the past and have come to the fore.   I have had more time to think lately.  I will share some of the lessons in this article.

We have all experienced quite a bit of change.  One thing I know for sure is that change happens all of the time.  All around us.  Within us.  Some change is our choice.  We did not choose this COVID-19 pandemic.  We can, however, choose how we respond to  it.  Do we respond to the panic and hysteria?  Do we respond to valid science based information?  I have been able to choose protection of self and others over panic because I am able to. I am  privileged to be able to make that choice.  Everyone responds depending upon their set of circumstances.  If I lost my income or if I were sequestered in the house with someone with whom I felt unsafe or if I had no home due to loss of income, I might well be in panic mode.

People are resilient.  People are kind.  People are compassionate.  People are rude.  People are mean.  People are inconsiderate.  During this very challenging time, I choose to focus on the good in people.  The acts of kindness and self sacrifice stand out to me.  In times of crisis, we see the best and the worst behaviors in humans.

Fear is in our midst.  Fear of the unknown.  Fear of the future.  People are unemployed, underemployed food insecure, housing insecure.  People are fearful of even going to the hospital while dying from a heart attack  for fear of contracting COVID-19.  There is indeed fear in our midst.

What are some of the lessons you have learned during this modern day pandemic?  How have you been coping during the COVID-19 pandemic?  What have you learned about yourself during the pandemic?  I plan to share more of the lessons that I have learned in the coming weeks.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started