The Good China

How many of us have “good china?” Reflect upon when you last used it. Most of us save the good china for special occasions. Recently I asked myself a question about my good china. What exactly is a special occasion? Why isn’t today a special occasion? Am I not special enough to use my good china on any day of the week? What am I waiting for? What are you waiting for?

The psychology of postponement is putting off what could really be enjoyed now. This hit me like a ton of bricks when I looked at my calendar and time off from work that I scheduled B.C. (before COVID). I had scheduled time off and noted in my calendar various art gallery hops, visits to friends who live out of town, local festivals and concerts and the like. As these events were canceled one by one due to the pandemic I asked myself an important question. Why hadn’t I enjoyed these events last year in 2019? There is no good answer. I remember telling myself, “I can go next year.” It comes down to postponing pleasure with no good reason. That just does not make sense. It is “everyday crazy.”

The pandemic has made it apparent that we cannot always postpone pleasure as if we can just pick up where we left off whenever and however we please with no consequences. When the pandemic is under control and you feel comfortable, take that vacation that you have been putting off for no good reason. Use that gift certificate that you received as a gift last year open that bottle of wine you have been saving for a special occasion. Call that friend or relative that you have been procrastinating about calling because you’re waiting for the perfect moment.

Tomorrow is not promised. If we do get tomorrow, it will not be like yesterday nor today.

Use the good china. Use the good china.

2 responses to “The Good China”

  1. Good advice! I have been using this valuable “stay at home time” to clean, organize and declutter. During my kitchen declutter it hit me, the everyday dishes that I thought I’d pass on to one of my children, and then use my “good china” was not practical. They live an airplane ride away. So, I packed up the everyday dishes, donated them to Habitat Restore and began using my “good china” everyday.
    It’s beautiful and we’re worth it. Now, I am going to go sit in the living room.🤪

    Like

    1. Jennifer McClellan Johnson Avatar
      Jennifer McClellan Johnson

      Wow, Deb! I was just looking at my everyday dishes too. I need to take my own advice immediately. Thank you for this post. I am sorry that I did not respond sooner. I am doing decluttering too. It is a slow process. It is a worthwhile process.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started